You have to put yourself in the hypothetical case that one day the reader is calmly using WhatsApp and suddenly a message appears in the middle of the screen about a Registration code of WhatsApp requested, but the user has not requested anything. What does it mean?
WhatsApp has protection mechanisms to prevent someone from stealing an account and this notification is one of them. From TechMarkup it will be explained when this notification appears, what to do when one receives it and how to protect an account if several similar notifications are received.
Why does this message appear on WhatsApp
To start using a new WhatsApp account, the user has to confirm who owns the phone number of the account in two ways: either by text message or by phone call.
If WhatsApp detects that someone is trying to register a phone number, it will display a notification on the cell phone. When WhatsApp opens, you will also see a warning window in the middle of the screen. The message says exactly this:
The message means that someone entered one’s phone number when they logged into WhatsApp. Precisely, if it was oneself and you want to register WhatsApp on another cell phone, it is normal. If it wasn’t one, it could be someone else’s negligence or an attempt to steal the account.
The good news is that in order to use the account, you need confirm that the phone number belongs to you with the code that has been sent.
Therefore, it is very important that the verification code is not shared with anyone. A classic way to steal WhatsApp accounts is when strangers write on WhatsApp and say that they accidentally sent a WhatsApp code and ask for it to be sent.
Even if you don’t have WhatsApp open and active at the moment, these phone number verification tests will also be known to you. via SMS sent to smartphone.
A normal WhatsApp verification text message just show a code and little else, but if WhatsApp is running on a different mobile phone, the code warns that “your WhatsApp account is being registered on a new device”.
Solutions in case this message is received
As WhatsApp explains in its help section, no one can register an account without a verification code, so no need to worry. All you have to do is ignore the message and continue using WhatsApp as usual. without sharing the password that has been received by SMS with anyone.
In addition to the message, if someone writes to you or calls you, and says about the inconvenience you have that you need this code, that person is trying to register the WhatsApp account for some reason. It is worth remembering that even if you fall for this trap and are given the code and they register the account, they will not be able to access the previous messages.
You can recover the account with a new verification, but it may take a few hours before WhatsApp allows you to recover the account. If no one asks for the code and it has only happened to one of you, it may just have been a mistake.
This is how you can protect a WhatsApp account
If you get multiple alerts about someone trying to register your phone number on WhatsApp, the bad news is that there’s not much you can do about it. Even if you enable two-step verification in WhatsApp, it will not prevent you from receiving notifications because WhatsApp will first ask for the verification code and then the two-step verification code.
However, if multiple warnings are received, it is strongly recommended that Activate two-step verification on the account. So even if someone gets the first verification code, they won’t be able to register an account because they don’t know the second verification code.
Another two-step verification code for WhatsApp is a PIN which is chosen manually and should never be shared with anyone. Optionally, you can also enter a direction of email to recover an account if the PIN is forgotten, although this opens the door to other problems.
In conclusion, the most important thing is that the code is not shared with anyone, and always be especially careful if the text messages are available from another device (for example, from the web version of Google Messages) or as a notification in a Smart watch. As for the warning messages, there is nothing that can be done: they will continue to arrive no matter what is done.