Tech News

WhatsApp web will not allow you to open photos and videos only once

The beta version of the messaging application removes this feature to increase the privacy of users. REUTERS/Given Ruvic/

The application of WhatsApp is developing new functionalities and features that are being tested in the beta versions desktop for devices macOS Y Windows and, at this time, it is evaluating removing the ability to replay videos and images that were submitted for one-time viewing.

[article_mb_code]

Last month the website of WABetaInfo reported that the instant messaging application was developing a function that prohibited taking screenshots for these types of multimedia messages on devices Android Y iOS with the aim of increasing the security and privacy of users.

However, there was still a risk that they would be saved when seen from the web version desktop. That is why, in order to continue protecting the safety of the people who use the service, WhatsApp is removing the ability to send and view messages to see only once from this platform from November 1.

WhatsApp prohibits the viewing of one-time messages from the desktop versions of the platform for Windows and macOS. (WABetaInfo)
WhatsApp prohibits the viewing of one-time messages from the desktop versions of the platform for Windows and macOS. (WABetaInfo)
[article_mb_code]

“You have received a message to see only once. For more privacy, you can open it only from your telephone” is the text that can be read instead of being able to click on the message to see the image or the video which was sent to users to view only once.

This feature developed for the platform developed by Goal includes the desktop web version for Windowsthe desktop application for the same operating system, and the version of WhatsApp beta for macOS.

[article_mb_code]

For their part, users will be able to continue using the option to send messages to see just once, either images either videosfrom their smartphones because the restriction only works from the desktop versions, so the experience will remain the same for this characteristic but with an addition of security extra.

Although there is still no definite date for the launch of this restriction officially, it is expected that it may occur in the next updates of WhatsApp along with the ban on taking screenshots to these types of messages.

Screenshots of temporary messages will be prohibited

beta version of WhatsApp for Android devices that was released in August this year issued a popup notification which indicated that in this update messages meant to be seen only once had a layer of extra securityas users would not have permission to share, forward, copy, save or take screenshots of them.

[article_mb_code]
It will no longer be possible to take screenshots of temporary photos and videos. (Wabetainfo)
It will no longer be possible to take screenshots of temporary photos and videos. (Wabetainfo)

In this way, the aim is to increase the protection of the privacy of users, since it will be impossible for the recipient of this type of photo or video to take a screenshot of them or record it to prevent this type of message from being filtered. However, those who send this type of content will not have the possibility of receiving any type of notification when a person tries to make a copy of these messages or save them.

Along these lines, the messaging platform developed by Goal attempts to increase the sense of privacy for users who use see-once messages as a form of sharing information personal and private that can only be viewed one time with your consent.

The ephemeral modeas this feature of messages in conversations within the platform was developed for that purpose and new updates may be released soon for users of Android, iOS and his version of desk.

:

Back to top button