Tech News

WhatsApp update will not allow another user to save temporary messages

[article_mb_code]
WhatsApp presents new features for temporary messages and the camera function in its new updates for the beta version of the application. (REUTERS/Given Ruvic)

The application of WhatsApp is developing new functionalities and features that are being tested in beta versions for both devices Android as for devices iOS and, in this opportunity, it is evaluating to prevent the saving of some temporary messages.

In May of this year, the WABetaInfo website reported that the instant messaging platform was working on a functionality, both for Android as for iOSwhich allows you to save temporary messages, something different from the current option of starred messages that is available to all users of the application.

[article_mb_code]

In this way, some temporary messages were allowed to be kept saved and available to be read again, although the decision to keep them must be consented to by the participants and any of them, whether from conversation groups or individual chats, can decide if they decide to stop. save these messages.

Temporary WhatsApp messages are automatically deleted from conversations after a set period of time, which can be 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days. (WhatsApp)
Temporary WhatsApp messages are automatically deleted from conversations after a set period of time, which can be 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days. (WhatsApp)

However, the update 2.22.20.3. of the beta version of the application WhatsApp for Android is working on a complementary functionality to the previous one, which consists of preventing some temporary messages from being saved by the participants of a conversation.

[article_mb_code]

According to WABetaInfo, this is an update intended so that messages that were removed from the “saved messages” section by one user can no longer be re-entered into that list by someone else.

[article_mb_code]
WhatsApp (WABetaInfo)
WhatsApp (WABetaInfo)

In the event that a person decides to re-save a message that was deleted from the saved section, an alert will be displayed on the screen indicating that this action is not allowed.

The message that appears, at least in the beta version of WhatsApp for Android en: “The author of this message has stopped saving it, so no one else can save it again in this conversation”

It is not yet known if this functionality will be available in the next global update for the app. WhatsAppif it will reach devices Android either iOS at the same time, or whether it will remain in the development stage.

New shortcut for the camera function

The arrival of the Communities functionality in WhatsApp It also brought with it an important modification for the instant messaging application, and that is that the shortcut to access the device’s camera (located in the upper left corner of the screen) was replaced by the icon of this new feature, now available to users. Android.

WhatsApp (WABetaInfo)
WhatsApp (WABetaInfo)

That is why a new beta version update of WhatsAppidentified as 2.22.20.4, has placed this shortcut in the upper right corner of the application’s main screen, next to the ‘Search’ button.

According to WABetaInfo, who reported this update, this change in the location could be a mistake, since it should only be for users who have the function of creating communities enabled, something that can be noticed because two icons dedicated to the function of camera.

That is why, although this update could arrive in the future for people who have the community function enabled on their devices, WhatsApp add a patch that fixes this bug for those that don’t have this feature available yet.

:

Back to top button