At the beginning of 2018 WhatsApp made public the launch of a version dedicated to the communication of business with your customers through the platform. This functionality, which allowed the growth of venturesalso made it possible to promote services with direct messages.
However, a new version update whatsapp beta for the android devices implements a functionality in the instant messaging platform that notifies users when their phone number be shared with a company.
According to WABetaInfo, the version 22.214.171.124. of the beta for the operating system developed by Google has the objective of preventing “certain businesses” from having access to people’s telephone numbers during a conversation through the platform.
The new feature will be enabled for cases where the user clicks on ads that redirect them directly to the whatsapp chat of companies and it will depend on each person if they want to share their number manually. Users will also be able to verify that their number is not visible to businesses by clicking on the organization’s contact information.
More privacy in group chats
During the first days of August, WhatsApp released a new update in the beta version of the application for Android which, as in the case of companies, hid the phone number of users who are included in chat groups. The purpose was to protect the privacy of people within the platform.
That version, 126.96.36.199 of the messaging application, had the function enabled by default, although it also gave the option to share manually the contact number to users who wished to do so.
both the version 188.8.131.52, aimed at interaction with companies; as the 184.108.40.206 for group chats, they are only available for Android devices and it is not known if the next global update of the app will include these functionalities that remain in the testing phase.
Also, another feature added to the whatsapp groups And what favors the administrators is the ability that has been given to them within the platform to delete any message sent by other users in the group chat.
With the addition of this new feature, admins will see a notification that the post they want to delete will no longer be readable in the group, and members will be notified that the admin deleted it.
In addition, the text “removed by admin” will be displayed in the chat in the conversation. Although this update is not available to all users, it is expected to arrive gradually in the rest of the world in the following months.
Communities arrive on WhatsApp
Another way in which users will be able to interact with each other and that will be offered by the platform in the future involves the arrival of communities within the application, as announced by the CEO of Meta, Mark Zuckerberg.
“I think community messaging will take the basic protocols behind one-to-one messaging and extend it so that you can more easily communicate with groups of people to get things done together,” he said in a post from his Facebook profile.
Some users of the beta version of the application have already tested this functionality within WhatsApp, so the arrival of this feature globally is expected gradually in the coming months.