The social networks they are part of the life of the users and therefore, publications, texts, photos, videos and any other type of content that is to the liking of each person are saved. When the owner of that profile dies, it is not normally known that there are options to give up the profile or leave it in commemoration.
In both cases it is necessary to contact Facebook to report the fact and make a decision.
What is a memorial account
Unlike a regular Facebook profile, the memorial account is a space where friends of a deceased person can share memories of their loved one. This is only possible if a family member or friend contacts Facebook to report the event.
The change does not imply that another person can log in or have access to conversations or other profile information. In addition, commemorative beads have features such as the appearance of the words “In memory of” next to the person’s name.
Regarding the content shared in the profile of an account that becomes commemorative, it will remain visible to the public with which it was shared, but the account will no longer appear in spaces such as “People You May Know” or birthday reminders.
Pages with only one admin whose account was changed to a memorial will be removed from Facebook.
What is a legacy contact
The accounts of people who have died can be managed by a “legacy contact” chosen in life to take charge of the memorial space. This person is chosen to take charge of the profile and make a limited series of actions such as pinning a publication, which could be a last message on behalf of the deceased or information related to the funeral.
The contact will have the ability to update the profile and cover photo of the account, as well as request a copy of the shared posts on Facebook.
These are the only options although you can ask Facebook for the account deletion. It is not possible to read messages, accept or delete friends or log in, as reported on the social network’s support website.
Legacy contacts can be chosen, changed or deleted only by users over 18 years of age. Here are the steps to do it from the desktop version of Facebook:
Click on the profile picture located in the upper right corner of the home page and then on the Settings option. Within the menu, you will see “Commemorative account settings” in which you will need to write the name of the chosen contact and then click Add.
The legacy contacts they will receive a notification letting them know they were selected and will not receive another notification until the account is memorialized.
Within the same menu, you can choose the account deletion once Facebook is notified about the death of the user of it. The legacy contact also has the ability to request it.
In the event that the user of the account has not chosen a contact before passing away, the relatives can request that the profile be deleted contacting facebook and providing information such as an obituary or funeral notice, as well as a power of attorney, birth certificate, will or declaration of heirs to verify the person’s death.