The application of short videos in vertical format, TikTokannounced the launch of a new feature within its platform that will allow users to create photos and videos with both cameras of the devices: TikTokNow.
According to the official website of the social network, this new feature within the platform will serve to create “authentic and spontaneous connections” in which content creators will be able to show what they do at some point in the day, a feature similar to the of notifications to post you have BeReal.
“TikTokNow invites the user and their friends to capture what they are doing at the moment using the front and rear camera of your device. They will receive a daily prompt to capture a 10-second video or photo, to quickly and easily share what they are doing at that precise moment,” says the feature’s release statement.
In addition, the platform created by ByteDance indicates that this new function is already available in its testing phase in Spain, although it states that users in that country can already find it within the app, as well as in a app separate with the same name: TikTok Now.
For other regions, the integrated version and the additional application of the feature will also be launched, although it was not specified when they would be available in territories such as Latin America.
A selective experience
TikTok content creators will have the ability to select who they want to include as part of the audience of your Now posts, although by default “friends can see” is the active option in the app.
In order to configure the privacy of the publications made by this functionality, the following must be done:
– On the post screen, you need to tap “Friends can see”.
– There you can choose who you want to allow to see your TikTok Now posts:
If you choose to keep the option “Friends can see” turned on, anyone who follows the user and who that person follows can see their TikTok Now.
If the option is activated “All”then anyone nearby can see the posts of TikTokNow of that person. The user must bear in mind that people who do not follow him or who do not follow him cannot comment or interact with your posts.
Privacy features for minors
Because the audience TikTok is mainly a young audience, the platform has taken precautionary measures to protect the Privacy & Security of these users.
In the event that a minor under the age of 16 creates a bill to use the app TikTokNowJust like on the main TikTok platform, your account will automatically be private by default. In addition, users under 18 years of age will not be able to share their content in the tab of Search.
Users between the ages of 13 and 15 will have the limited comments only for their friends, so they can be protected against unwanted interactions from people of legal age.
For those 18 and older, these have additional sharing options. In addition to sharing with mutual friends, you can choose to share your posts with the community of TikTok Now depending on the privacy settings they have chosen when creating their account.