Blocking someone in an app is the best way to prevent that person from calling or texting; Nevertheless, If oneself is the one who has been blocked on WhatsApp, how can one know?
Unfortunately, according to the app owned by mark zuckerberg, there is no direct way to know if one is blocked on WhatsApp; However, there are 5 keys that can be followed to find out.
If a user believes that he has been blocked on WhatsApp, then TechMarkup brings the following list that can help check it once and for all:
All messages that are sent will show only one check mark, but never two
WhatsApp uses a verification mark to notify if a message has been delivered and read: the famous popcorn. One check mark next to your message means it was sent, while two check marks means it was received.
When you send a message to a contact that you have probably blocked yourself, you will only see a checkmark. In general, the second check mark may not appear if the other person does not have a signal or internet connection, but if that brand and the messages have passed days, or months and are not delivered, it is most likely that one is blocked from WhatsApp.
Cannot add the contact to a WhatsApp group
One of the ways to find out if someone has been blocked from WhatsApp is to try adding the contact to a group. If, when trying to do so, you receive a message that cannot be added, it is almost certain that it has been blocked.
Unable to see a contact’s ‘last seen’ or ‘online’ status in the chat window
Checking the user’s ‘Last Time’ status may be the key. This is a notification that is updated every time a person opens WhatsApp and informs when was the last time they used the application.
If you can’t see it, one may be blocked, although the user may have disabled the feature in their account.
You won’t be able to see updates to the contact’s profile photo
If someone has been blocked and then changes their profile photo, the new photo will not be viewable; you will still see the image you had when it was locked.
This means that there is no sure way to know if they updated their profile picture or not. But if this contact is known to regularly update their photo and suddenly stops it is likely that it has been blocked.
The contact will not be able to be called through the application
In addition to the instant messaging feature, WhatsApp also has a calling feature. Like messages that can’t be delivered, calls attempted to a contact you have blocked yourself will fail.
So it can be unlocked by one person
It should be noted that if a person decides to block a number, for whatever reason, you should respect that will and not want to access your messaging again. However, if communication with that person is of the utmost importance and there is no other way to communicate with them, there is a way to get back to chatting:
1. Just go to Settings.
2. Give the option of ‘Delete your Account’.
3. Once done, restart the telephone.
4. Reinstall the app with the same number as before.
In this way, all the contacts will be preserved, but the block will be associated with the old account and you will be able to communicate with this person again.
At TechMarkup, although we give recommendations of this type, we also call on respect people’s privacy boundaries and only use this resource in case of great importance and extreme need.
If that person blocks you again after doing this, the best thing will be to let it go and understand that there is the limit.