‘O corno’ wins the Golden Shell: complete winners of the San Sebastián Festival 2023

He San Sebastian Festival has presented the awards for its 71st edition, with Or how, of Jaione Camborda, as a great winner winning the Golden Shell.

She is the first Spanish director to win the contest’s top award, the fourth woman to win the Golden Shell after Dea Kulumbegashvili (Beginning), Alina Grigore (Blue Moon) and Laura Mora Ortega (The Kings of the world) in previous years. The Jury has also highlighted with a Special Award for the film Kalak, of Isabella Eklöf.

The Silver Shell for best direction has gone to Taiwanese directors Peng Tzu-Hui & Wang Ping-Wen by A Journey in Spring. The acting awards have been ex aequo for Marcelo Subiotto by Puan and Tatsuya Fuji by Great Absence as best leading performance; and to Hovik Keuchkerian as best supporting performance for One Love.

The gala included the actress as masters of ceremonies Loreto Mauleon and the comedian Eva Hache, who has even started to participate singing along to the musical accompaniment of Indigo.

The San Sebastián 2023 jury has been chaired by the French filmmaker Claire Denis, and they have formed the Spanish actress Vicky Luengo; chinese actress Fan Bingbing; the Colombian producer, director and writer Cristina Gallego; the french photographer Brigitte Lacombe the hungarian producer Robert Lantos and the German director Christian Petzold.

San Sebastián Festival 2023: complete list of honors

  • Golden Shell: ‘O corno’, by Jaione Camborda
  • Special Jury Prize: ‘Kalak’, by Isabella Eklöf
  • Silver Shell for the best address: Peng Tzu-Hui & Wang Ping-Wen for ‘A Journey in Spring’
  • Silver Shell for best lead performance ex aequo: Marcelo Subiotto for ‘Puan’ and Tatsuya Fuji for ‘Great Absence’
  • Silver Shell for best supporting performance: Hovik Keuchkerian for ‘One Love’
  • Jury Prize for best script: María Alché & Benjamín Naishtat for ‘Puan’
  • Jury Prize for best photography: Nadim Carlsen for ‘Kalak’
  • New Directors Award: ‘Bahadur the Brave’ by Diwa Shah
  • Latino Horizons Award: ‘The Castle’, by Martín Benchimol
  • Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award: ‘The Rise of the Human 3’, by Eduardo Williams
  • Zinema Culinary Award: ‘The Passion of Dodin Bouffant (Slow Fire)’, by Tran Ann Hung
  • Irizar Award for Basque cinema: ‘The Sultana’s Dream’, by Isabel Herguera
  • Spanish Cooperation Award: ‘The Blue Star’, by Javier Macipe
  • RTVE-Another Look Award: ‘The Royal Hotel’ by Kitty Green
  • Audience Award: ‘The Snow Society’, by JA Bayona
  • Audience Award for Best European Film: ‘I, Captain’, by Matteo Garrone
  • TCM Youth Award: ‘The Blue Star’, by Javier Macipe
  • Feroz Zinemaldia Award: ‘A love’, by Isabel Coixet

Do you want to be up to date with all the latest movie and series news? Sign up for our newsletter.

Related Articles

Back to top button