Tech News

Key settings so that WhatsApp groups are not so annoying

One of the famous features of WhatsApp and hated by many users are the groups. In the end, almost no one can escape WhatsApp groups, because they are often necessary to communicate with people at work, in a classroom, or even with family.

[article_mb_code]

The problem is that on several occasions, groups can become overwhelming if you don’t know how to manage them so they don’t become a torment while using a smartphone.

In order to lead a calmer life dealing with WhatsApp groups, the popular messaging application offers a series of options and settings that allow users to control from their notifications, the received messages that are archived or who can add to new groups, as TechMarkup will show below:

[article_mb_code]

This way you can avoid being added to more groups

If you don’t want to be added to groups without your consent, go to Settings > Accounts > Privacy > Groups. There you can configure who can add you to the group: anyone (everyone), only your contacts, only certain people or nobody.

[article_mb_code]

in the option ‘My contacts, except…’ is where you can choose which contacts can have the permission to add you to a group.

If selected ‘All contacts’ (icon on the top right), no one will be able to add you to the group and this person will have to invite you with a link so that you can accept yourself and thus join the group.

Disable automatic download of media files

[article_mb_code]

With this option you can avoid the automatic download of photos, videos, audios and documents of your group.

To do this, access Settings > Storage and data and configure automatic downloads with mobile data and WiFi, unchecking all options for what you have to manually download each received file yourself.

Snap to Media Visibility

Thanks to the groups, dozens of photos and videos can be received every day, and sometimes unwanted content.

To prevent these photos and videos from appearing in your camera roll iPhone either Androidyou have to access the group information clicking on the name of the group and in the Media files display mode, and finally Activate the option that you do not want to download media files from this chat in the gallery.

Archive groups that cannot be left

If a person was added to a group that you don’t want to belong to, but also don’t want to leave it, you can archive it so that the group no longer appears in the chat overview.

In case of an Android phone, select the group by long pressing and clicking the file icon. The group will move to the new section Archived. Archived chats are muted and will remain archived by default even if new messages are received.

On the other hand, on iPhone, you just have to go to the ‘chats’ (within Settings) and select the option that says ‘Keep chats archived’.

Mute notifications

Muting group notifications is one of the required options to configure. To do this enter a group, and in the options menu choose Mute notifications.

There you can choose 8 hours, 1 week or Always. By default it will not show notifications either, but if all you want to do is stop playing the sound and see the messages, you have to enable the option ‘Show notifications’.

Customize notifications

Finally, for those important groups, you can customize your notifications so each one sounds different.

To do this you have to enter the group and touch the name of the group to see more information. There you will find the option ‘Customize notifications’ Y choose notification tones, vibrations and whether or not they are high priority notifications.

Tags
Back to top button