Home Tech News How to erase all data before selling or giving away a cell...

How to erase all data before selling or giving away a cell phone

How to erase all data before selling or giving away a cell phone
It is important to unlink the account and do a factory reset (Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels)
It is important to unlink the account and do a factory reset (Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels)

In the event that a phone is to be sold or given away it is important to ensure that you unlink the accounts from the device, as well as delete the content or any other information. Keep in mind that prior to this you need to verify that all the data is backed up so as not to lose anything valuable.

1. Verify that all information is synchronized on the cloud. For this you have to click on the nut icon on the mobile to enter the menu of Settings. Then you have to press Accounts and Backup/Manage Accounts and activate the option that says Ysync data automatically.

In this way all the information should be backed up in the account of Google. But it does not hurt to check some points to verify that everything is working well.

[article_mb_code]
Synchronize phonebook contacts
Synchronize phonebook contacts
[article_mb_code]

To verify if, for example, the multimedia content is being uploaded to the cloud, do the following: enter the icon of Google PhotosClick on the profile picture and then on Photos Settings. There you will see if a backup is being created linked to the account that was entered on the mobile.

Google photos settings
Google photos settings

You can also check if the contacts in the phonebook are backed up. To do this, enter the telephone icon, which shows the phone’s agenda, then enter Settings/Manage contacts and choose the option Synchronize contacts. There should be the same account gmail used for photos and all other mobile content.

[article_mb_code]

2. Unlink the account

Once it has been verified that all the information is backed up, then the account(s) linked to the mobile must be deleted. For that you have to go to Settings/Accounts and backup and later Manage accounts. There you will see the profile(s) associated with the cell phone. It is entered in each one of them and they are eliminated.

Once this is done, to verify and corroborate that the account is no longer associated with the cell phone, enter Gmail from the computer or another device. Then in the left navigation pane, select Security/Your devices and click on Manage all devices.

Delete Google account
Delete Google account

There you will see the computers from which that Google account was accessed during the last few weeks. Right there you can choose to remove access from the device if it has not been exited or the steps previously carried out from the mobile have not yet been reflected in that section.

3. Factory restore

Now it is time to delete all data from the mobile: settings, applications, images and all other user data. For that you have to go to the menu Setting and in the magnifying glass, which is the icon of the internal search engine, type “reset”. You will see several options. You have to choose the one that says “factory reset” for a complete cleaning of the equipment.

If a new iPhone was purchased, then the first thing is to transfer the information from the old mobile to the new one. For that you can use Quick start, which allows you to automatically transfer data from the old device to the new one. This is for those who have iOS 11 or later.

Those who have iOS 10 or earlier, then they should use iCloudiTunes, or the Finder to transfer information to the new computer.

If, in addition to changing the cell phone, the phone number is also changed, then additional trusted phone numbers must be added to the account so as not to lose access.

1. Make the backup. To do it in iCloud, you have to go to Settings, click on the name of the profile and then choose the option iCloud/Backup.

Another option is to link the device to the computer via a USB cable and follow the steps on the screen. In the event that it is a Mac, it can be done with Finder, and if it is a PC, with iTunes.

Back up data on iPhone
Back up data on iPhone

two. Sign out of iCloud, the iTunes Store, and the App Store. If using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings and tap the profile name. Then go all the way down and press Sign off. Enter your Apple ID password, and then Deactivate.

If you are using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings / iCloud / Sign out. press again Sign off, then Remove from device and enter the Apple ID password. Then click on Settings/ iTunes Store Y App Store/ Apple ID/Sign out.

3. Once this is done go again until Settings and press General/ Transfer either Reset device/ Wipe contents and settings. If Find My Device was turned on, then you may need to enter your Apple ID and password.

4. If the device uses eSIM, select the option to erase the device and eSIM profile when prompted. If it is necessary to receive additional support to eliminate this data, contact the corresponding telephone operator.

If you are prompted for your device passcode or restrictions passcode, enter the passcode and then tap Erase device. Finally, remove the old device from the list of trusted devices.

Previous article“Nicolas Cage is in my DNA”: Pedro Pascal spoke about his work with the actor in “The Weight of Talent”
Next article“Selling Sunset”: the reality show adds more fans every day thanks to its extravagances