Facebook is one of the social media most popular and therefore users should be careful of their posts and everything they do within it. Therefore, below are some security and privacy recommendations, which the organization underlined Cybersecure Families.
1.- Use a strong password
That technique can also be repeated on all available social networks and platforms. It’s best to have a secure login to prevent account theft or stares from outsiders.
2.- Choose who can see the list of friends on the profile page
To do this, you must visit the section on Settings from Facebook and take a few minutes to set it up. This will help avoid being located on the platform and that those who follow you, or are your friends, cannot spy on who you have added or your likes.
3.- Configure who can comment on images and publications
This will prevent unwanted people from posting their opinions. For example, it can be useful for a teenager who suffers from cyberbullying, since only his friends will be able to interact with him on the social network and he will not be harassed with negative and destructive comments.
4.- Block messages, video calls, invitations, pages or third-party applications
This modality will also be useful to avoid being harassed or having contact with strangers. It should be remembered that there have been cases of people who are located on social networks through false profiles, who begin to speak to them or send them images to harass them.
5.- Determine who can see the posts when they are tagged
This can be useful for vain people who don’t like the way they look in group photos, or want to keep their Facebook profile as private as possible.
Also, it’s ideal to keep location data private and block data collection by Facebook and its partners.
Although it may seem like a stretch, keeping personal data private may be best, as there is no telling who might profit from it and sell it to others, use it to commit fraud, or harass.
Facebook’s ‘Nearby Friends’ will disappear
‘Friends nearby’ is an optional service, launched in 2014, which is used to receive notifications when a user’s contacts are nearby by tracking your location.
As the site has been able to verify 9toMac, users have started receiving notifications from Facebook that ensure that The ‘Nearby Friends’ feature will be discontinued on May 31 for iOS and Android in which it is detailed that this tool will stop working on May 31.
In turn, Facebook has indicated that other experiences such as weather alerts and location history will also disappear later this month. Facebook will discontinue the ‘Nearby Friends’ feature at the end of the month. With this, he indicated that users will be able to access and download location history until August 1 this year in order to store your information. Thereafter, the app will delete this data.
Finally, the company has underlined that will continue to collect location data from users “for other experiences” and that this tracking can be disabled from the Privacy Settings section of the application.